My 2017 Travel Destinations

While I didn’t have the opportunity to travel much this year, I’m hoping to travel about the globe in 2017. Below are my top travel destinations for the upcoming year. Here’s to hoping that I can venture outside of D.C. to visit these beautiful locations!


The Netherlands

When I was younger, I visited the beautiful Carlsbad flower fields. My grandma told me that it reminded her of the flower fields of Holland, and I’ve wanted to visit ever since.

Ever since, I’ve dreamt of walking through fields of tulips with windmills in the background, and spending time biking through the city of Amsterdam. With a friend studying abroad in Maastricht this year, 2017 seems like the perfect opportunity to travel to this Northern European country.

holland.jpg
Image sources: http://macsadventure.com/holiday-1873/amsterdam-to-bruges-cycling http://beautyscenery.com/2013/05/holland-paradise-of-tulip-and-windmill.html

Boston/Cambridge

While this is just a short flight or day ride plan north from D.C., I have yet to visit this historical American town. The site of the Boston Tea Party, the Shot Hear Round the WorldWith many JetBlue and Southwest flash sales, I’m making it a goal to finally visit this beautiful town- and make do some grad school visits along the way.

beacon-hill
Image source: https://newengland.com/today/travel/massachusetts/beacon-hill/

Southeast Asia

Long ago in college, I took a comparative politics course on SEA. My professor talked about his research trips and shared gifts, food, and spectacular pictures of his weekend travels. Fast forward to now and one of my friends is on his third trip to SEA in the last three years, and my goodness, his pictures make this beautiful region seem like heaven on earth.

From dense forests to street markets, beautiful picturesque beaches to boat rides between massive rocks and islands, and so many different rich cultures, Southeast Asia looks like an amazing place to stay for a visit. And while I know that there are so many different countries in the region, I couldn’t pick just one that I must visit this year. So cheers to searching for flight deals and landing where I land.

b853af8acfa5ebc2ffa42ca075a1638f
Image source: http://www.thailandrentalcars.com

Side note: For those of you traveling to Thailand and hoping to visit some elephants, please please please be sure that the company/organization you go with treats their elephants humanely and with respect. I haven’t done all my research yet, but I’ve found this site helpful: http://www.greenthailand.co.uk/green-tourism/ethical-elephant-experiences-thailand/ 


Barcelona

Over three years ago, I left for my study abroad trip to Barcelona. Sadly, I haven’t returned back to Barcelona since I left. Every year in August, my old neighborhood of Gracia hosts a large festival where they decorate every street with beautiful recyclable items to transform the neighborhood into a magical place. Festa de Gracia has always fallen on my birthday weekend, and this year I hope  to make it back to my home away from home in Barcelona.

fmgracia5-stay-in-barcelona
Image source: http://moistorebarcelona.blogspot.com

Home

With some exciting family events coming up at home this summer, I can’t wait to make a few extra trips home this summer.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. I hope you get to go to all of them, especially Barcelona!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Victoria says:

      Thanks! I hope so too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. kandriot1 says:

    Boston is awesome (of course I am a little biased because my mother was raised there and I spent many summers there growing up)! If you like the history, be sure to check out the “Freedom Trail.” You will be able to see the Boston Tea Party, Paul Revere’s House, Bunker Hill, and the USS Constitution.

    Like

    1. Victoria says:

      I’ll definitely have to check out the Freedom Trail. Thanks for sharing!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Two years ago, my daughter was on a student exchange in Liden, Netherlands. I visited her during the Keukenhof (end of March to May), and we did a tour of the gardens — I suggest visiting then if you can, the tulips are spectacular. – Ginette

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Victoria says:

      I’ll definitely have to look into the gardens! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jaspa says:

    We have at least one destination in common this year, Victoria. I’m off to Barcelona at the end of March.

    Like

    1. Victoria says:

      Love it! I hope you enjoy your trip 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

