Nostalgia: Study Abroad

Live with the thirst you had when you studied abroad because life is too short to not make every single moment count.

I’m over two years out from my study abroad experience, and everyday I miss the feeling of having Europe at my fingertips.The cafes sprinkled under tree lined streets and bars in open playful plazas. Bakeries on every corner, and families enjoying each others company in their small apartments.

I miss the late night strolls through my neighborhood of Gracia, with neighbors and friends spending their nights in the warm summer air, eating, laughing, and drinking for hours and hours…

I miss the feeling of excitement and intrigue. The anxiousness of attempting to speak Catalan at the grocery store, or trying to learn a few words in Hungarian from your gracious Airbnb hosts.

I miss the days at the beach, and evenings getting lost in the intertwined in the meandering streets of the old town, leading me to new corners, buildings in the city, and discoveries in the old city.

I miss xurros amb xocolata in the morning, and patas bravas con una copa in the afternoon, and my classic gin-tonic in the late nights and fresh squeezed orange juice in the mornings. I even miss lugging my groceries up the stairs and the transfer station I took to the airport every other weekend that lasted three blocks.

But mostly I am nostalgic for who I was when I was abroad. I was daring, I was adventurous, I was unafraid and overly confident in my ability to solo travel and make it home safe without an euros on hand.

I miss waking up in the morning with a lust to explore and a passion to meet new people. I had a vision and a bucket list, and a finite time to live life to the fullest and be free of routines.

So for all of you out there thinking about studying abroad- do it. Go explore the world and live your life to the fullest.

And for the rest of us who are still nostalgic- bring that magic home, and live with the thirst you had when you studied abroad because life is too short to not make every single moment count.



This post is inspired by the Daily Post’s weekly Photo Challenge.

Leave a Reply

