Looking Up: Big Ben

On a dreary London day, under the eyes of Big Ben, I checked a box off my bucket list: Big Ben, Parliament, London, England, UK.

The building that Harry Potter flew past in Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, that Annie drove by in a London taxi when she went to live with her mum in England, and that Daphne went in What a Girl Wants to find her father. Referenced in thousands of other movies, books, pictures, and dreams across the world, Big Ben was waiting for my visit. The day came for me to this piece of history.

It’s face, signaling tea time, and it’s stature, standing strong amid countless political struggles in the country, has held together a nation, an empire. We stood as he chimed, as the rain continued and tourists rushed by.

We took in the moment, and a few pictures, then moved on the view the rest of the Parliament and the beautiful city.  But, the next time I see a movie with beautiful Big Ben, I’ll smile and remember my 15 minutes with Ben, and dream about our next moments together…


As a bonus, and as an avid Parks and Rec fan, I’ve included this great picture of Ron Swanson when he first saw Big Ben. It wasn’t quite the magical encounter, but I felt the need to include it regardless.

Image result for big ben ron swanson
source: https://s-medoa-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/c2/8e/54/c28e54ae21361457ed205be784b578c4.jpg

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. ASHLEY DOUNG says:

    Love this! I just did a London post as well! xx

    Like

    1. Victoria says:

      Thanks for stopping by- I’ll be sure to check out yours as well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

