Table for One: Why we should all eat alone

It’s Saturday and you’re ready for a delicious, life-changing meal. Your housework is done, you’ve done your reading and you have the whole day to yourself to explore your town.

Remember that that one restaurant you’ve always wanted to try for lunch but never got around to eating there because you’re always busy? Well, now it’s calling your name and you are prepared to answer the call. 

Only one problem: the housemates are out of town. And you can’t eat alone!!! Right??? Well, my friends. You can eat alone. And here’s why you should.


1. You’re not alone. You’re with food.

When I was going through a pizza and bagel rampage on my trip to New York, a pizza owner asked me why I was enjoying my fancy pizza in an Italian restaurant alone. Food is meant to be eaten with friends and family, he told me.

I’m not alone, I told him. I’m with pizza. And it was lovely.

FullSizeRender

2. You can seriously enjoy your meal.

Going back to that pizza, I was able to enjoy every savory bite because I was alone. No trying to not talk with my mouthful or trying to be too civil when shoving bites in my mouth. Me and pizza were having an intimate moment.It was just like in Eat, Pray, Love when she says, “I think I’m having an affair with my pizza.”

You see, sometimes food is meant to be shared with others. Other times its meant to be shared with you and only you because you’re special enough to have a whole meal to yourself. Because let’s be real… I hate sharing food and if I eat with someone else, they might try to steal my precious baby (i.e. my meal).

3. You learn to enjoy your own company.

Mastering the art of eating alone also means that you have mastered the art of being on your own- something I find to be a true test of being a strong independent woman (or man, or whatever gender you identify with). It’s always nice to have friends to hang out with and , but it’s also really important to be able to enjoy your own company because, at the end of the day, all you really have is you.

When you eat alone, you let your mind wander. You think about that random thought you had about moving to a different country. You think about how much you miss someone and make a mental note to call them later. You think about how lucky you are not to be on that horrible date like that intensely awkward couple next to you.

IMG_2483

4. People watching is fun

See above: awkward meal encounters. Why have an awkward meal encounter when you can eat on your own and laugh about the awkward encounters around you? People watching has quickly become one of my favorite past times and an easy way to learn about the culture and language around you.

Struggling to learn Spanish? Sit in a restaurant and listen to the locals around you speaking in their native language? Looking for some entertainment, but don’t want to watch a screen? Go to a restaurant or cafe with a book or a journal to accompany you on your meal for entertainment. Or watch families eat together while the younger children pick on their parents.

5. No one cares

And for those of you who are scared that people will judge you if you eat alone… No one cares. That may sound harsh, but it’s true. Chances are everyone else will be eating with someone else and they’ll be preoccupied balancing eating their meals with conversing with the person that they are with. 

The only person holding you back from eating alone is you. So let yourself be free, go to that restaurant and indulge yourself in a delicious meal. #Treatyoself

Who knows you might actually meet someone new at the restaurant and make a new friend…

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Brittany says:

    YES!! I LOVE eating alone! It’s so nice to pick the restaurant, not worry about being on anyone else’s time, and people watch. It’s so relaxing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vkrivas says:

      Definitely! It’s a perfect way to unwind and relax

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sally E says:

    Loved this post! Eating alone used to be my least favorite part of solo travel but it really grew on me by the end of my trip!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. vkrivas says:

      I was the same way! And now I eat alone by choice haha

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

