Why Not? Take a Crazy Chance.

For those of you Lizzie McGuire lovers out there, you will know that this is the beginning of the chorus of a fantastic number from The Lizzie McGuire Movie. During my entire study abroad experience (and also the week I was in Rome), this was my anthem for life. The song goes on to say, “if you lose the moment, you might lose a lot. So why not?” and I think that that’s entirely true.

My favorite stories from my time abroad included taking some risky decisions, my putting aside my fear of the unknown and jumping outside of my comfort zones. From riding a Vespa around Rome with an Italian to cliff jumping with Spaniards on the small island paradise of Menorca, these tales began with a rush of adrenaline and laughter that could sustain me for days. Even the moments where I chose to walk to my favorite plaza when I knew no one was a taking a crazy chance (Note: I ended up many dog friends and this crazy chance was #worthit).Screen Shot 2015-08-06 at 3.16.03 PMScreen Shot 2015-08-06 at 3.12.43 PM

But risk taking doesn’t just have to be in the form of traveling across the pond or selling everything you own to life in a foreign country. My favorite nights in college were the ones where we asked ourselves, “why not?” and found ourselves living life to the fullest. From attending that last minute paint party to hiking up into the Berkeley hills to stargaze, every moment has always been worth it.

Taking a crazy chance is about doing something out of the ordinary, knowing that you could fail and you do it anyways. There are also moments where I’ve gotten lost or ended up getting a concussion from ice skating too riskily. Still, these failures are moments I’ve cherished because at least I took that chance. For me personally, getting into a rut or a routine of life is something I am striving to avoid and I constantly push the envelope of doing new things and constantly asking myself “why not?”

But for everyone, every day there are endless possibilities to ask ourselves, “why not?”  Taking risks can be anything from asking that cute friend out to coffee, splurging on a concert to see your idols play live, or even choosing to ride a bike to work in a busy city (please be safe if you do this!). It can involve standing up for yourself to your co-workers when you know you’ve been taken advantage of or choosing to adopt that adorable dog that’s been sitting at the animal shelter for months.

Life is about taking crazy chances and like the saying goes, “Do something everyday that scares you.”  So friends, what risks will you take today? What will you do that scares you? And when will you choose to jump and ask yourself, “why not?”

10169226_10152369057679371_9216155598191993193_n

Leave a Reply

