Washington, D.C. Bound

Earlier this week, I traveled across the country to spend my summer in Washington, D.C. It’s  the first time that I’ll on the East Coast and, despite the fact that I know my curly hair will not like the humid weather, I’m thrilled to live and learn in our nation’s capital.

A couple weeks ago, I attended an event with numerous public and private lawyers. Every single one of them asked me what I was doing post-grad and what I wanted to do with my life. To be honest, every time I answered the question, I changed my mind a bit. And that’s exactly why I’m going to D.C. To get some real world experience, to see if I like what I’ve studied in a practical sense, and really, just to live somewhere else and see whats up in a different part of the country.

Ironically, as I’m preparing for my life in D.C., dozens (yes, literally dozens) of my friends embark on their own European adventures… almost a year after I finished mine and am so so so nostalgic to go back. Also, add in the fact that the euro isat the lowest it’s been in years and I’m a bit bitter. But, alas, I know my time will come again and I too soon will be able to return back to my second patria, España por supuesto, and I have to make it count (its funny because that’s my url) while I explore a fabulous city that so many other people have fallen in love with- the city of aspiring politicians, policymakers, and economists.

Hence, now it’s time to focus on DC and to keep my mind and heart open for every amazing opportunity that I will experience in my nation’s capital.

So here’s to making it count!

IMG_4373

Leave a Reply

